Competition Contestants

sax quartet

On Tuesday, March 18, nine NMU music majors participated in the department's Performance Scholarship Competition at Reynolds Recital Hall. The entire music faculty served as the judging panel for the competition, which awarded a prize of a $1000 scholarship.

"We hope to make this a yearly event to highlight the wonderful performing skills of our music majors," said department head Dr. Robert Engelhart. The competition winner was Jacob Barnby, euphonium, a junior music education major from Onaway. In very close voting, honorable mentions were awarded to Amanda Fliflet, percussion, a junior music education major from Tony, WI and Audra Hagan, alto saxophone, a junior music education major from Iron Mountain. Dr. Nancy Redfern accompanied the performers. Shown with Dr. Redfern on the Reynolds stage are (left to right): Timothy Ovist, Robb Strieter, Sarah Jane Grierson, Barnby, Nathan Selfridge, Hagan, Victoria Gabrielson, Robert Taylor and Fliflet. Barnby is a student of Steve Grugin; Fliflet studies under Carrie Biolo; and Hagan under Elda Tate.