Upcoming Performances

Unless otherwise noted, all performances are at the Reynolds Recital Hall  and are open to the public without charge.  Events are generally rescheduled when the university is closed because of inclement weather, and this schedule is updated throughout the semester.  Please contact the department (906) 227-2563 for the latest information.  More detailed information about individual performances can often be found on the NMU Master Calendar.

*Indicates admission charge.

Upcoming Events

 

PAC Camp Concert
Friday, August 7
7:30 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall



Music Education Seminar
Tuesday, September 1
4:00
TFA 111



Music Education Seminar
Tuesday, September 15
4:00 p.m.
TFA 111

 

NMU Alumni Band - 2015 Homecoming
Friday, September 18 and Saturday, September 19
Click here for info and registration

 

Student Recital
Tuesday, September 22
4:00 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall

 

Beethoven Banjo Concert
Friday, September 25
7:30 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall

 

2015-2016 Royal Opera and Ballet Cinema Presentations *
Rise and Fall of the City of Mahogonny
John Fulljames presents a new production of Bertolt Brecht and Kurt Weill's furiously impassioned operatic satire on consumerism.
Sunday, October 4
5:00 p.m.
Jamrich Hall Auditorium
Tickets: Free to NMU students with ID, Adults $15
* Siril Endowment for Musical Arts Event

 

Student Recital
Tuesday, October 6
4:00 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall

 

NMU Choral Concert
Sunday, October 11
3:00 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall

 

Jazz Band Concert
Tuesday, October 13
7:30 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall

 

NMU Orchestra (Tent.)
Wednesday, October 14
7:30 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall

 

NMU Orchestra
Sunday, October 18
7:30 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall

 

Student Recital
Tuesday, October 20
4:00 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall



Music Education Seminar
Tuesday, October 27
4:00 p.m.
TFA 111

 

Faculty Recital Series 
Jeffrey Vickers, saxophones

Friday, October 30
7:30 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall

 

Student Recital
Tuesday, November 3
4:00 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall

 

Percussion Ensemble
Sunday, November 8
3:00 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall

 

 NMU Choir Concert
Sunday, November 15
3:00 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall

 

2015-2016 Royal Opera and Ballet Cinema Presentations *
Swan Lake
Anthony Dowell's production of the greatest romantic ballet draws upon the opulence of 1890's Russia, choreography by Marius Petipa and Lev Ivanov.
Sunday, November 15
5:00 p.m.
Jamrich Hall Auditorium
Tickets: Free to NMU students with ID, Adults $15
Siril Endowment for Musical Arts Event



Senior Recital (tent.)
Robert Strieter, euphonium

Sunday, November 15
6:00 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall

 

Student Recital
Tuesday, November 17
4:00 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall

 

NMU Orchestra Concert
Wednesday, November 18
7:30 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall

 

NMU Jazz Band
Thursday, November 19
7:30 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall



Senior Recital (tent.)
Amanda Fliflet, percussion

Tuesday, December 1
7:00 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall
 

2015-2016 Royal Opera and Ballet Cinema Presentations *
Le nozze di Figaro
A Valentine's Day treat, David McVicar's production of Mozart's brilliant comic opera, starring Erwin Scrott and Anita Hartig with conductor Ivor Bolton.
Sunday, February14
5:00 p.m.
Jamrich Hall Auditorium
Tickets: Free to NMU students with ID, Adults $15
Siril Endowment for Musical Arts Event

 

The Akropolis Reed Quintet *
NMU Students Only - ​Friday, March 11 - No Admission
Public Concert - Saturday, March 12 - Adults $15.00, under 18 $8.00
7:30 p.m.
Reynolds Recital Hall
(NMU Artist Residency - March 7-12, 2016)

 

2015-2016 Royal Opera and Ballet Cinema Presentations *
Romeo and Juliet
Kenneth MacMillan's poignant setting of Sergei Prokofiev's classic score draws out the emotional and psychological intensity of the tale.
Sunday, April 10
5:00 p.m.
Jamrich Hall Auditorium
Tickets: Free to NMU students with ID, Adults $15
Siril Endowment for Musical Arts Event

 

For more information please contact music@nmu.edu or (906) 227-2563.
Last updated: July 31, 2015 @ 11:00 a.m.

 
 




 
calendar