Student Organizations

Click here for a complete list of organizations at NMU.

__________________________________________________________________________

Black Student Union

The mission of the Black Student Union is to support NMU students with a main focus toward African-American students by fostering a sense of community and support socially, academically and culturally. To promote diversity and cultural awareness through educational and entertaining programming; thereby opening an avenue for understanding, learning and appreciation for the black culture and heritage. BSU has won numerous awards through the years, including organization of the year and diversity project of the year.

Contacts:

President Claudia Redfearn credfear@nmu.edu
Vice President Andre Stringer astringe@nmu.edu
Advisor Shirley Brozzo sbrozzo@nmu.edu
Meeting Sunday, 3pm in LRC 326

OUTlook (gay/lesbian)

The mission of OUTlook is to serve as an organization for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning graduate, undergraduate and non-traditional students, who have banded together to promote a sense of community in a comfortable and secure atmosphere and attend to the social, emotional and political needs of the homosexual, bisexual, transgender and queer population.

Contacts:

President Aidan Pietila mapietil@nmu.edu
Advisor Shirley Brozzo  sbrozzo@nmu.edu
Meetings 9:30 p.m. Tuesday's in room 224 of the LRC

 

Outlook E-Board

President

Aidan Pietila mapietil@nmu.edu

Vice President Kelli Borgeld kborgeld@nmu.edu
Secretary Amanda Koonce akoonce@nmu.edu
Treasurer Alex Cowles kcowles@nmu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Q & A

Q&A - Queers & Allies allows the queer and allied community of NMU to gather in a safe and welcoming environment. The group will offer social activities and a place for queers and allies to be able to openly express themselves in a relaxed and non-judgmental environment.

Contacts:

President Stefani Vargas Harlan svargash@nmu.edu
Vice President Betsy Lehman ellehman@nmu.edu
Advisor Dr. Mary Pelton Cooper mpeltonc@nmu.edu
Meetings Wednesdays 8:30 p.m. in the Brule Room of the University Center

 

Latino Student Union

The purpose of the Latino Student Union is to affirm the Latin culture and heritage within NMU while serving as a social group for all Latino students.  Our purpose is to encourage students to look at the issues beyond cultural differences and focus on the great and unique qualities that make Latino and non-Latino students at NMU as we work together for academic and social unity.

Contacts:

President Nicole Musi nmusi@nmu.edu
Advisor Maria Arenillas  marenill@nmu.edu
Meetings 1:30 pm Bi-weekly on Friday's in 111i in the LRC.

 

Native American Student Association

The Native American Student Association promotes events related to Native American heritage and culture while serving as a supportive and interactive group for Native American students. All NMU students are welcome to join. NASA has hosted drum socials, the Native American Performers` Festival, the Ojibwe food taster, the annual "Learning to Walk Together" traditional Pow-Wow and co-sponsors Native American Heritage Month. NASA has also participated in community programs, such as Title VII Indian Education with the local public schools, Earth Day activities and has supported the Leonard Peltier Defense Committee. The Anishinaabe News is also a part of NASA. It is a Native American newspaper that provides readers with information about current events or issues that are related to Native American culture.

Contacts:

Co-President

Larry Croschere lacrosch@nmu.edu

Sky Loonsfoot sloonsfo@nmu.edu

Vice-President Kristina Misegan kmisegan@nmu.edu
Co-Advisors

Tina Moses cmoses@nmu.edu
Grace Chaillier grachail@nmu.edu

Meetings 10:30 a.m. Wednesday's in room 141 of Whitman

 

All Nations Club

The ALL NATIONS CLUB consists of international students attending NMU. There are about 110 students from 34 different countries. The club wants to create cultural understanding among the Marquette community by organizing the International Food Fest, giving presentations about different countries, and uniting students together to make them feel more comfortable in a different cultural environment. They are recipients of the 2004-2005 Program of the Year Award for the International Food Fest. Anyone is welcome to enjoy the club.

Contacts:

President Eric Heim eheim@nmu.edu
Advisor Dr. Weronika Kusek wkusek@nmu.edu
Meetings Fridays, 5:00pm in 224 LRC

 

Women for Women

Co-Presidents

Sarah Eggleston segglest@nmu.edu
Reese Johnson cherjohn@nmu.edu

Co-Advisors

Liz Sommer esommer@nmu.edu

Justine Defever  jdefever@nmu.edu

Meetings 7:30pm every Wednesday in Payne/Halverson Basement

 

Muslim Student Associaton of NMU

The Muslim Student Association is a group on campus that focuses on the cultural and religious beliefs of Islam. The club's purpose is to encourage the community to look beyond cultural and religious differences and gain a better understanding of what the Islamic religion teaches and what Muslims truly follow.

President

Amer Mansoor amansoor@nmu.edu

Co-President TJ Aiyash taiyash@nmu.edu
Meetings Every Friday for prayer at 1pm in the Meditation/Prayer room in the UC.

 

Native American Language and Culture Club

The mission of the Native American Language and Culture Club is to keep the Native American Language and Culture alive by meeting outside of class time to work with one another to help learn, teach, and bring awareness to the NMU community.  The club welcomes anyone who is interested in furthering their studies in Native American Language and Culture.

Contacts:

President Sedona Geiter sgeiter@nmu.edu
Advisor Kenn Pitawanakwat kpitawan@nmu.edu
Meetings