MARQUETTE, Mich.—Fifty-six Northern Michigan University students have been selected to participate in the nationally recognized Student Leadership Fellowship Program (SLFP), beginning with the fall 2010 semester.

            The SLFP is a two-year experience that focuses on both leadership skill development and a commitment to community service. The program includes a two-credit leadership theory and practice course, a year-long mentoring relationship with a local community leader, an annual overnight fall retreat, frequent Skill Builder! Workshops and a year-long community service internship planned by the student fellow.

            The following students were accepted into the program (listed by hometown, starting with Michigan, and academic major):        


            Akron: Sara Turschak, biology; Atlanta: Mitchell Stephenson, sports science; AuTrain: Cory Cole, business management; Barryton: Doug Turnbull, English: graduate bound;  Bay City: Courtney Brown, secondary English education; Rebecca Pierce, elementary education; Canton: Andrew Lane, nursing; Cass City: Brittany Loomis, graphic communications; Chelsea: Matthew Prince, earth science; Centerville: Kathryn Powell, photography; Clarkston: Heather Aproika, computer science; Joshua Garnett, biochemistry; Phillip Voorheis, criminal justice;  Delton: Mandy Dye, art education; Farmington Hills: Kassondra Hendricks, pre-Vet and zoology; Gladstone: Brandon Frazho, pre-pharmacy; Goodrich: Heather Cardneau, accounting and outdoor recreation; Grand Rapids: Carolyn Harwood, outdoor recreation leadership and management; Iron Mountain: Thomas Merkel, accounting; Jeddo: Kimberly Randolph, zoology; Kalamazoo: Melina Otto, art and design illustration; Kincheloe: Kacey Lewis, forensic biochemistry; Lake Orion: Lydia Stuef, secondary education: chemistry/math; Lexington: Hailey Schroeder, psychology; Midland: Katelyn Kalafut, nursing; Tracy Pickering, international studies; Sabrina Wheeler, art and design education; Marquette: Lacey Payment, speech, language, hearing sciences; Marshall: Stephanie Stockel, nursing-BSNI community health education; Mohawk: Stephanie Fouts, secondary education integrated sciences; Negaunee: Emily Stenson, undeclared; Newberry: Derek Dake, biology and pre-optometry; Novi: Johnathan Ross, biology: ecology emphasis; Onondaga: Heath Mason, biology; Portland: Erica Hattis, nursing; Republic: Dalten Krause, English writing; Rock: Jessie Wigand, speech language pathology; Saginaw: Zuri Irwin, elementary education; Sault Sainte Marie: Mia Shawhan, speech, language, hearing sciences; Sebewaing: Mary Canfield, undeclared; Shelby Township: Brendan Franklin, nursing; Wixom: Jacqueline Carroll, art education


            Snowmass Village: Lindsey Wilkinson, athletic training;


            Buffalo Grove: Ashley Foster, forensic biochemistry; Batavia: Erin Schafer, nursing; Schaumburg: Justine Samek, photography;


Eagan: Molly Davis, zoology; Minneapolis: Geneva Martin, undeclared; Rosemount: Laura Budinger, graphic communications; Savage: Sarah Muellerleile, undeclared;


            Green Bay: Kevin Dollhopf, pre-law and political science; Kevin Corkin, outdoor recreational leadership management; Slinger: Rebekah Schmidt, management of health and fitness; Sobieski: Shauna Neshek, English; Stevens Point: Kelsey Leopold, elementary education and social studies;



            Bellevue: Salome Loera, BSN nursing.

Prepared By