MARQUETTE—Fourteen Northern Michigan University students wererecently honored by Michigan Campus Compact for their dedication and commitment to community service. MCC is a coalition of college and university presidents who are committed to fulfilling the public purpose of higher education.

            Alysa Diebolt, a junior from Rock, received the Commitment to Service Award. This award is given to 34 students from member campuses in Michigan who have demonstrated a commitment to community service.

The following NMU students received the Heart and Soul Award, which recognizes time, effort and personal commitment through service:

Kurt Brandly, a junior from Negaunee; Meghan Connell, a freshman from Apple Valley, Minn.;  Allison Haltaufderheid, a sophomore from Green Bay, Wisc.; Andrew Kandell, a junior from Addison; Lakin Lanich, a senior from Amberg, Wisc.; Victoria Leonhardt, a senior from Sault St. Marie; Sarah Morrison, a sophomore from Marquette; Stephanie Rockwood, a senior from Wildwood, Wisc.; Paul Seehafer, a sophomore from Athens, Wisc.; Christopher Singer, a first year master’s candidate from Marquette; Amber Snyder, a senior from Chicago, Ill.; Nicole Stumpf, a senior from Appleton, Wisc; and Lauren Veale, a junior from Negaunee.

Prepared By