MARQUETTE – Northern Michigan University has announced the recipients of 2006 Leadership Scholarships.

            Incoming freshmen Angela Balbierz of Marquette, Stephanie Felton of Green Bay, Wis., Anna Prahl of Greenville, Mich., and Anne Scott of Algonquin, Ill. were chosen from 102 applicants who visited NMU last October and January in conjunction with the Academic Achievement Awards scholarship competition.

            The students will receive $1,500 per year for the next four years. While attending NMU, they will be required to enroll full-time, achieve and maintain a minimum GPA of 3.0, and be involved in leadership development and student organizations.

            Candidates for the Leadership Scholarship are required to have a minimum high school GPA of 3.0. They are evaluated based on past community and school leadership involvement, a written essay, a campus interview, and small-group activities.

Prepared By
Becky Kratz