MARQUETTE – The nationally recognized Student Leader Fellowship Program (SLFP) at Northern Michigan University has selected a new group of student fellows to participate in the program, beginning with the fall 2006 semester.

            The SLFP is a two-year experience that focuses on both leadership skill development and a commitment to community service. The program includes a two-credit leadership theory and practice course, a year-long mentoring relationship with a local community leader, an annual overnight fall retreat, frequent Skill Builder! workshops, and a year-long community service internship.

Individuals who have completed at least two college semesters and maintained a minimum 2.3 grade point average are eligible to apply.

            The following students have been selected for the program:


            Allendale: Becky Marshall, a secondary education English major; Battle Creek: Jeron Schmidt, an entertainment and sports promotion major; Calumet: David Campbell, a political science major; Kara Granroth, a nursing major; Charlevoix: Mallory Mahoney, a pre-med/biology major; Coldwater: Danielle Luce, a pre-law major; Commerce Township: Kerry Black, a marketing major; Dorr: Kerensa Bauman, an elementary education major; Grand Rapids: Elizabeth Jeplawy, an environmental design major; Katherine VanderVeen, a social work major; Greenville: Elizabeth Luce, an elementary special education major; Hartland: Ashley Bollwahn, an elementary education major; Ironwood: Amber Chiapuzio, a pediatric nursing major; Barbara Kerkove, a graphic communication major; Ishpeming: David Hedberg, an electronics engineering tech major; Mary Jeanne Rajala, an accounting major; Katie Trevor, a diagnostic genetics major; Kingsford: Nathan Gazza, a biology major; Stephanie Hicks, a sports science/pre-chiropractic major; Marquette: Christopher Chase, a biology/pre-med major; Sarah Cummiskey, a nursing major; Katherine Kreis, a psychology (grad prep) major; Anthony Paquette, an accounting/finance major; Midland: Christine Johnroe, a psychology major; Otisville: Jennifer Miller, a nursing major; Potterville: Krista Leidi, a biology (physiology)/pre-dental major; Rockwood: Vsevalod Peshehonov, a special education major; Romulus: Glen Farmer, a liberal arts major; Traverse City: Holly Majszak, a psychology major; Nicole McManus, a zoology/pre-vet major; Angela Neumann, an accounting major;



            Buffalo Grove: Sara Kilker, an athletic training major; Chicago: Holly Havlicek, an entrepreneurship major; Klamesha Richards, an art and design education major; Margaret Vincent, an entrepreneurship major; Elk Grove Village: Brennen Busse, a secondary education/physical education and health major; Hazel Crest: Jazmyne Coles, a public relations major; Plainfield: Karen Zaehler, a nursing major; Skokie: Yuriy Drubinskiy, an economics major; Waukegan: Keonshay Moore, a criminal justice/accounting major; Wildwood: Christopher Warrens, an undeclared major;



            Sosebo: Brian Bowers, a business management major;



            Delano: Emily Engelhardt, a secondary education/mathematics major;



            Altoona: Anne Swanson, a secondary education/English and Spanish major; Brooklyn: Betsy Ott, an English/Writing major; DePere: Abby Kiley, a nursing major; Franksville: Amanda Kaminski, a forensics major; Hollandtown: Laura Rueden, an elementary education/science major; Kaukauna: Julie Rueden, a public relations major; Kiel: Elizabeth Becker, an elementary education major; Marinette: Zaneta Setunsky, a political science/pre-law major; Peshtigo: Brooke Gregersen, an English major; Wausau: Dana Toenjes, a nursing major; Wild Rose: Stephanie Rockwood, a zoology major.


Prepared By
Becky Kratz