MARQUETTE -- The Northern Michigan University Board of Trustees today finalized the current fiscal year’s $94 million operating budget and approved a request for an additional $3.9 million in state funding for FY2007.

          “It is an annual requirement for all universities to submit their initial budget requests to the state, based on anticipated cost increases and projected revenues,” said Gavin Leach. “But this is only the first step in the legislative budget process.”

          Prior to the business portion of the meeting, the NMU Board participated in a focus discussion on the following topics: the future of the NMU Foundation; public television’s annual report and update on digitalization; an NCAA update for informational purposes; a continuation of the funding/formula funding discussion held previously; and a look at how Northern compares to other institutions in terms of faculty productivity and compensation, as well as instructional costs.

          In other action items, the NMU board:

●Approved allocating $200,000 in one-time funding for two consecutive years to the NMU Foundation. The money will cover a portion of the cost for a staffing increase in advance of the university’s next comprehensive fundraising campaign.


●Agreed to two academic changes: deleting the architectural technology associate degree program; and changing the name of Communication Disorders to the Speech, Language and Hearing Services Department. Both will be effective in Fall 2006.


●Accepted more than $61,000 in gifts and $3.6 million in grants to the university.


●Granted Professor Emeritus status to the following, effective Jan. 1: Duane Fowler (Physics); Carol Johnson (Business); Katherine Payant (English); John Renfrew (Psychology); and Frank Verley (Biology).


●Agreed to hire an architectural firm to conduct a facility review of Kaye House to bring it up to modern standards. According to Mike Roy (Finance and Administration) there have not been any major renovations to the facility since it was first occupied in 1980 – only general maintenance repairs on an as-needed basis.


●Approved the following Board of Trustees standing committees for calendar year 2006:

Academic Affairs – Mary Lukens, chair; Brian Cloyd; Larry Inman; and Jon LaSalle;

Finance – Douglas Roberts, chair; Alan Ackerman; Samuel Benedict; and Larry Inman;

Executive – Samuel Benedict, chair; Larry Inman; Mary Lukens; and alternate Douglas Roberts. Karl Weber and Les Wong will serve as ex officio members of each committee.


          The next meeting of the board is scheduled for Friday, Feb. 11, and may be a retreat format.

Prepared By
Kristi Evans
News Director