MARQUETTE – Four incoming Northern Michigan University freshman will receive Leadership Scholarships worth $1,500 per year for four years. They were selected from 143 students in conjunction with the NMU Triple A – Academic Achievement Awards – scholarship process.  

           Recipients were chosen based on leadership involvement with their school and community, a campus interview, a written essay and an evaluation in small-group activities. They also had to obtain a minimum 3.0 grade point average in high school to be considered for the scholarship.

            To remain eligible for the awards each year, the students must be enrolled full time, achieve and maintain a minimum 3.0 grade point average, and be involved in leadership development and student organizations during their years at NMU.

            These Leadership Scholarship recipients are:


            Boyne City: Raechel Percy; Kalkaska: Elizabeth Bartlett; Otisville: Jennifer Miller;



            Mentor: Elizabeth Wantz.


            The Leadership Scholarship Program seeks to improve extracurricular life at Northern Michigan University by attracting exceptional student leaders. 

Prepared By
Becky Kratz