Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  MARQUETTE – Eighty-two sophomores were inducted into Northern Michigan UniversityÂ’s chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta, a national society that honors academic excellence during the first year of college. The NMU students were chosen because they maintained grade point averages of 3.5 or higher while carrying a full load of courses during their freshman year in 2003-04.

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  Founded at the University of Illinois in 1924, ALD has more than 230 chapters and has initiated more than 650,000 students.

“Northern recently adopted the organization because we saw it as a positive way of encouraging academic progress on campus,” said William Knox, an NMU professor and honorary member of ALD. “It is another vehicle that we can use to give more recognition to excellent students.”

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  The new members are:


Baraga:  Jennifer Knisely; Birch Run:  Brianne Rogers; Brighton:  Katherine Fuchs; Calumet:  Billie Miller; Casco:  Stephen Matthews; Cass City:  Amanda Frederick; Christmas:  Kelly Passinault; Commerce Twp:  Racquel Fendley; Eaton Rapids:  Cyrene Kemper; Gwinn:  Tiffany Gilsdorf, James Smiljanich; Grand Marais:  Catherine Bodak; Hastings:  Jordan Leep; Houghton:  Stacy Nordstrom; Hudsonville:  Emily Fisher; Iron Mountain:  Sara Blomquist, Lindsy Tadych; Ishpeming:  Traci Niemi; Kimball:  Kyle Bladow; Kingsford:  Heather Lidbeck; Lansing:  Regis Wolfe; Marquette:  Karlyn Anderson, Johanna Boyle, Alexander Buck, Amy Donati, Matt Engelhart, Andrew Ferns, Jerry Hume, Lauren Johnson, Ryan Meyskens, Katherine Wilson; Marysville:  Megan Evans; Mason:  Adam Herman; McMillan:  Miles Baker; Negaunee:  Lacy Gregg, Jacob Panian; Newport:  Sharon Valescho; Norway:  Anthony Gedvick; Ottawa Lake:  Grant Slusher; Paw Paw:  Michelle Zerbi; Petosky:  Kathryn Berger; Quinnesec:  Kelly Hayes; Roscommon:  Katie Grimm; Saginaw:  Stephanie Peck, Kevin Rogers; Sault Ste Marie:  Jamie Thompson; St. Claire Shores:  Jessica Rabior; St. Helen:  Jesse Carter; Wallace:  Nathan Herrild; White Lake:  William Digneit; West Bloomfield:  Carla Rigsby 


Buffalo Grove:  Andrew Cisneros; Des Plaines:  Laurel Hague; Hanover Park:  Jessica Williams; Hoffman Estates:  Kristen Mueller; Kildeer:  Krysta Campbell; Naperville:  Kari Stromberg; Palatine:  Theodore Appert; St. Charles:  Bridget Deutsch; Wadsworth:  Steven Myllymaki; Wheaton:  Kent McCord; Wildwood:  Christopher Warrens



Hammond:  Carol Anderson



Bloomington:  Patrick Machacek; Dassel:  Emily Halonen; Esko:  Matt Maunu; Red Wing:  Nickolas Place; Roseville:  Katherine Stenlund; Savage:  Amy Froeber



Chagrin Falls:  Scott Mental; Mentor:  Stephen Halpin



Seattle:  Alexandra Otto



Chilton:  Jessica Jannette; Fond Du Lac:  Theresa Sippel, Trisha Sippel; Greenville:  Karen Williams; Marshfield:  Andrew Larson; Niagara:  Elizabeth Faucett; Oconomowoc:  Andrew White; Spooner:  Michael Gilbertson; Wild Rose:  Eleasha Wiedenbeck


 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  Honorary members from NMU faculty and staff are:  David Bonsall and Rachel Harris, student activities and leadership programs; Peter Holliday, student support services; Fred Joyal, provost and associate vice president for academic affairs; and William Knox and Laura Soldner, English. 

Prepared By
Becky Kratz