MARQUETTE – The chemistry department at Northern Michigan University recognized six students for achievement during the 2003-04 academic year.

Mandy Kittleson of Frankfurt, Mich., received the Lucian Hunt Award, named for the founding member of the NMU chemistry department and 40-year faculty member. The award honors academic achievement, undergraduate research and commitment to the chemical profession.

Kittleson performed undergraduate research on “High Pressure Liquid Chromatography of Analgesics” under the direction of John Ejnik. She graduated with a bachelor of science degree and will be a staff chemist for the Michigan Department of Natural Resources.

The co-winners of the Alchemist Award, which recognizes achievement in organic chemistry, were: Amethyst Augustine-Krueger, a zoology major from Green Bay, Wis.; and Tony Schindler, a chemistry major from Chippewa Falls, Wis.

Jane Stieber of Boyne City, Mich., won the award for outstanding performance in the general chemistry sequence and received a copy of the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. She is a physiology major.

V. Apparao Kallepalli, a second-year graduate student, was awarded a summer fellowship to complete his thesis project under the direction of Donald Marquardt. His winning proposal was titled, “Synthesis of Sumanene (C21H12) – A Bowl-Shaped Hydrocarbon.” Kallepalli’s research is part of an ongoing project to find new methods for synthesizing fullerenes. The original discovery of this class of molecules earned the 1996 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.   

Prepared By
Kristi Evans
News Director