Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  MARQUETTE – Northern Michigan University has announced the winners of its annual Academic Achievement Awards – Triple A – competition.

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  About 300 students from across the Midwest competed in the program. Ten high school seniors were selected to receive the top awards, based on their participation in Triple A, their ACT or SAT scores, and their high school grade point average.

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  The winners will receive Presidential/Harden Scholarships beginning with their full-time enrollment at NMU for the fall semester of 2004. These cover the following costs: in-state and out-of-state tuition; room and board for four years; and required fees, including those for a laptop computer.

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  High school seniors selected for the top awards are:

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  From Michigan (cities listed alphabetically)

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  Coldwater: Megan Johnson, Coldwater High School; Homer: Samuel Holcomb, Homer High School; Marquette: Katelynn Jensen, Marquette Senior High School; Rapid River: Holly Nicholson, Rapid River High School; Sault Ste. Marie: Krista McLeod, Sault Area High School; Traverse City: Jack Moore, Traverse City Central High School; Troy: Elizabeth Larry, Athens High School; Walker: Kasie Veen, Kenowa Hills High School.

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  From Wisconsin

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  Platteville: Laura Bongers, Platteville High School; Wausau: Emily Case, Wausau High School.

Prepared By
Jessica Holman