MARQUETTE – The Northern Michigan University Board of Trustees received a report on the first meeting of the Presidential Search Advisory Committee at its Aug. 8 business session.

Sam Benedict, trustee and chair of the PSAC, said members were informed of their charge and responsibilities. They also developed a tentative timeline for the process.

Benedict said the committee will review all resumes in October and select 25-30 candidates who “rise to the top.” In November, the committee will narrow the list to 10-12 and begin the interview phase between December and February. The committee plans to present four or fewer finalists to the board for consideration in February or March.

“We are not locked into this schedule because our first priority is finding the best possible person,” Benedict said. “It is important to keep in mind that the people who will be brought to our attention are very good at what they do and have good jobs right now. We will have to entice them and convince them why Northern is an attractive option and why they should come here instead.”  Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ 

At the committee’s next meeting, scheduled Sept. 15, Benedict said members will spell out the details of NMU that will appeal to prospective candidates. They will also finalize a road map of qualifications and characteristics they agree the next president should possess.  

Shelly Storbeck of A.T. Kearney, the executive search firm contracted by NMU, met with individuals and groups from the university and local community Aug. 7 to conduct a pre-search campus study.

“My impression so far is that we made a very good choice in selecting A.T. Kearney as our consultant,” Benedict told the board. “The firm has a great deal of experience in presidential searches and Shelly is very professional. I am very happy with that part of the process so far.”

In other action during its Aug. 8 business meeting, the board:

▪Accepted more than $37,000 in gifts and nearly $360,000 in external grants and contracts;

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  ▪Approved renaming the former Willard M. Whitman School, which will now be called Willard M. Whitman Hall;

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  ▪Approved tenure-earning faculty appointments for Jean-Louis Dassier, modern languages and literatures; John Ejnik, chemistry; Mark Flaherty, music; Keith Kendall, history; Alec Lindsay, biology; Frankie Ann McCormick, chemistry; Kristi Robinia, practical nurse program; and Qinghong Zhang, mathematics/computer science;

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  ▪Granted emeritus status to the following faculty members: George Carnahan, management; Sara Doubledee, nursing; Frederick Margrif, accounting; Phillip Pavlik, chemistry; and Mokhlis Zaki, economics;

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  ▪Appointed board members for the following public school academies: Bahweting Anishnabe Charter School Academy and North Star Public School Academy, with terms expiring June 30, 2006; and Nah Tah Wahsh Public School Academy and Walton Charter School Academy, with terms expiring June 30, 2005; and

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  ▪Approved the 2003-04 general fund designated and carryover budget and the 2003-04 designated fund recommended budget.

Prepared By
Kristi Evans
News Director