Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  MARQUETTE – Northern Michigan University has announced the winners of its annual Academic Achievement Awards – Triple A – competition.

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  About 240 students from across the Midwest competed in the program. Ten high school seniors were selected to receive the top awards, based on their participation in Triple A, their ACT or SAT scores, and their high school grade point average.

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  The winners will receive Presidential/Harden Scholarships beginning with their full-time enrollment at NMU for the fall semester of 2003. These cover the following costs: in-state and out-of-state tuition; room and board for four years; and required fees, including those for a laptop computer.

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  High school seniors selected for the top awards are:

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  From Michigan (cities listed alphabetically)

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  Bruce Crossing: Chase Robl, Ewen Trout Creek High School; Cheboygan: Hope OÂ’Donnell, Traverse City Central High School; Evart: Darcy Daggy, Evart High School; Fraser: Sara Burke, Fraser High School; Kimball: Kyle Bladow, Marysville High School; Richmond: Tom Martindale, Jr., Vassar High School; Saline: Valerie Smead, Saline High School; Traverse City: Shawn Brown, Traverse City West High School.

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  From Minnesota

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  Cokato: Emily Halonen, Dassel Cokato High School.

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  From Wisconsin

 Â Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚ Ã‚  Greenville: Karen Williams, Hortonville High School.

Prepared By
Jessica Holman