MARQUETTE - The academic departments at Northern Michigan University announced their Outstanding Graduate Award recipients at Tuesday's (April 2) Honors Banquet.

The students, their respective departments and their major are identified below.  Outstanding graduating seniors are listed first, followed by outstanding graduate students.  Students are listed alphabetically by hometown starting with those from Michigan.


(Listed by hometown, recipient, department/college, major)

From Michigan

Bark River: Laura Holderman, music department, music education major.

Brighton:      Laura Burt, history department, history major.

Cadillac:       Dallas Bishop, geography department, human geography major.

Champion:    Amy Karvonen, technology and occupational sciences department, hospitality management major.

Ellsworth:     Emily Gardner, biology department, zoology major.

Gwinn:   Gwen Akom, engineering technology department, electronics engineering technology major.

Hanover: Jennifer Schumacher, criminal justice department, criminal justice major.

Iron Mountain: Nathan Raiche, math and computer science department, secondary education math major.

Ironwood:       Kristin Kolesar, School of Education, early elementary education major; Anthony Lupino, communication disorders department, communication disorders major.

Ishpeming:      Brandon Evans, economics department and political science department (double recipient), double major in economics and political science; Terri O'Brien, School of Nursing, nursing major; Jennifer Shaffer, Walker L. Cisler College of Business, business education major.


Marquette:     Anita Mattson, chemistry department, chemistry major; Susan Meyer, art and design department, illustration major; and Layla Wright, communication and performance studies department, double major in international studies and media studies.

Manitou Beach: Renee Mapes, psychology department, psychology major.

Negaunee: Jamie Hanes, social work department, social work major.

Portage:     Thomas Nicholas, English department, English major.

Out of state

Belvidere, Ill.: Lisa Peterson, clinical lab studies department, diagnostic genetics major.

Mequon, Wis.: Andrew Coster, Walker L. Cisler College of Business, management major.

Oshkosh, Wis.: Eric Streeter; health, physical education and recreation department; athletic training major.

St.  Paul, Minn.: Alesia Hanzal, modem languages and literatures department, double major in Spanish and speech communications.

Willow Springs, Ill.: Paul Meske, philosophy department, English literature major.

Perth, Australia: Damian Matacz, Walker L. Cisler College of Business, finance major.


In state

Gaylord:     Kristi Kumcz, School of Education, education administration major.

Holland: Jennifer Huisman, School of Nursing, nursing with advanced practical nursing concentration.

Indian River: Nicole Bates, communication disorders department, communication disorders major.

Ishpeming:   Tristan Palomaki, School of Education, counseling major.

Marquette:  William Bradley, English, writing major; Laura Klar, biology department, biology major.

Sault Ste.  Marie: Kari Jastorff, political science department, public administration major.

Skandia: Susan Kapla, psychology department, experimental psychology major.

Out of state

Appleton, Wis.: Kevin McKee; health, physical education and recreation department; exercise science major.

Clintonville, Wis.: Luke Steinke, College of Technology and Applied Science, training and development major.

Prepared By
Kristi Evans
News Director