MARQUETTE - Northern Michigan University has announced that four incoming freshmen will receive 2002 Leadership Scholarships. They are: JaneAnne Belmore of Independence, Mo.; Shalynn Brandt of Bryant, Wis.; Mandy Nesbitt of Sandusky, Mich.; and Kayla Fice of Filion, Mich.

Each recipient will be awarded $1,500 per year for the next four years. While attending NMU, leadership scholars are required to enroll full-time, achieve and maintain a minimum 3.00 grade-point average and be involved in leadership development and student organizations.

The scholarship winners were selected from nearly 125 high school seniors who visited the NMU campus last November in conjunction with the Academic Achievement Awards - Triple A - scholarship process. They were evaluated on their high school GPAs and their leadership involvement in school and the community. The candidates participated in a campus interview, written essays and small-group activities.

"For more information, contact Rachel Harris, assistant director of Student Activities and Leadership Programs, at (906)227-1771."

Prepared By
Kristi Evans
News Director