SMOLENS'NOVEL COLD IS FOCUS OF NCLL PROGRAM

MARQUETTE - John Smolens will discuss his new novel Cold, which is set in the Upper Peninsula, at a program sponsored by the Northern Center for Lifelong Learning. It begins at 7:3 0 p.m. Thursday, February 7, in room B I 0 1 of the Superior Dome.

Smolens is an English professor at Northern Michigan University. He also directs the Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing program. Cold, his third novel, is a literary thriller in the vein of Fargo and A Simple Plan. Smolens will deliver a reading from the book, then moderate a discussion on the story and the process of writing and publishing.

Author Andre Dubus said the novel is "so riveting you will absolutely not be able to put it down." Jim Harrison, who wrote Legends of the Fall, described it this way: "Cold is a finely crafted, wild yam set in the great North. John Smolens gives us a suspenseful tale in a style somewhere between Jack London and Raymond Chandler; a fine read."

The program is $3 for NCLL members and $6 for non-members. Pre-registration is required by Feb. 4 by calling the NCLL office at 227-2979. Participants are encouraged to read the book in advance. It is available at the NMU Bookstore and local merchants.



Prepared By
Kristi Evans
News Director
906-227-1015
news_bureau