Colloquium Series

Speakers expose students to professionals from other parts of the country giving them insights beyond those of our own faculty, and helps connect NMU to the global academic community. Talks by colleagues start discussions on issues of importance, and provide an opportunity to give visibility to scholarly work being done here.

Join us for interesting and informative seminars on mathematics and computer science topics.

Meet guest speakers from across the country representing universities, industry and mathematical and computing organizations.

Abstracts of each talk are available as well as the time and location.  Simply click on the speaker's name for information.

 

Fall 2016 Semester Schedule of Speakers

Speaker Information Colloquium Title Time and Place
Anthony Webb and Prof Daniel Rowe Kissing the Platonics 3:00 pm Friday, Oct 21st JXJ 3100
Raphael Bennet WebWalk, Predictive Analysis, Risk Assesment, and Preference Level Intelligence 3:00 pm Friday, Oct. 14th JXJ 3100
Andreas Valloud Hybrid Analysis of the Collatz Conjecture 4:00 pm Friday, Sept. 16th  JXJ 3100

 

Winter 2016 Semester Schedule of Speakers

Speaker Information

Colloquium Title

Time and Place

Educators of NMU Professional Pathways

Friday, January 22, 2016

3:00 PM

3101 Jamrich Hall

NMU alumni and CS Interns What Does an Internship Look Like 

Friday, January 29

4:00 pm

3100 Jamrich Hall

Zac Cogley Philosophy

Friday, February 26, 2016

3:00 PM

3101 Jamrich Hall

 

Fall 2015 Semester Schedule of Speakers

Speaker Information Colloquium Title Time and Place

Anthony Webb
NMU Student

How Many Gumballs Fit into a Gumball Machine? Friday, September 11, 2015
3:00 PM
3100 Jamrich Hall

Daniel Rowe

Assistant Professor Mathematics

NMU

Conjugacy, Polynomials, and Lattices

Thursday, November 19, 2015

3:00 PM

3100 Jamrich Hall

 

Fall 2014 Semester Schedule of Speakers

Speaker Information Colloquium Title Time and Place
Mark Funk
Adjunct Professor, Winona State University
Cluster-Shared Memory Friday, September 19, 2014
4:00 PM
NSF 1205
Christopher M. Place
Senior Retirement Consultant
Towers Watson
So What is an Actuary Anyway? Tuesday, October 28, 2014
12:00 PM
3102 Jamrich Hall
Michael Lemke
NMU Alumnus
The Mathematics of Employment Friday, November 7, 2014
3:15 PM
3102 Jamrich Hall

 

Winter 2014 Semester Schedule of Speakers

Speaker Information Colloquium Title Time and Place
Qinghong Zhang, Ph.D.
NMU Professor
Implementing Active Learning in Math Classes Tuesday, April 29, 2014
12:00 PM
NSF 1209
Travis Clark
NMU Student
Your Programming Language Sucks Friday, April 25, 2014
4:00 PM
NSF 1205
Elijah Meert
NMU Student
 
Analysis of Lake Superior Water Temperatures-A Differential Equations Approach Tuesday, April 22, 2014
4:00 PM
NSF 1205

John Kiltinen, Ph.D.
Emeritus of Mathematics

Mathematics from Oreo Cookies Tuesday, April 15, 2014
4:00 PM
NSF 1205

Andrew Poe, Ph.D.
NMU Professor

Towers of Hanoi Tuesday, April 8, 2014
4:00 PM
NSF 1205
JoshNKurt
NMU Students
Modtalk Tuesday, April 1, 2014
4:00 PM
NSF 1205
Allen Wirfs–Brock
Research Fellow
Mozilla Corp.
Evolving Javascript Tuesday, March 25, 2014
4:00 PM
NSF 1205
David Arnold, Ph.D.
 
Why Pi? Tuesday, March 18, 2014
4:00 PM
NSF 1205
Mounia Ziat, Ph.D.
NMU Professor
Cross-Disciplinary Between Computer Science and Psychology Tuesday, March 11, 2014
3:00 PM
NSF 1209
Eric Smith & Matt Smock
NMU Broadcast & AV Servs.
Interactive Technologies at NMU Tuesday, February 25, 2014
12:00 PM
West Science 3808
about_us