East of the Sun, West of the Moon


A World Premiere, Full-Length Ballet

Music by Griffin Candey, Choreography by Jill Grundstrom

This exquisite fairytale shines onstage in this never-before-seen ballet. A poor peasant exchanges his prettiest and youngest daughter for riches when a white bear appears and asks for her. The bear takes the girl to a rich and enchanted castle, where, at night, he takes off his bear form in order to come to her bed as a man, although the lack of light means that she is never able to see him. When she finally lights a candle to find out who he is, she discovers that he is a handsome prince, but by seeing him in his human form she has ignited a curse. Now the prince must return to his wicked stepmother, who lives in a castle “east of the sun and west of the moon,” and marry her hideous daughter, a troll princess. Can the girl find the castle and save her prince? Her breathtaking, magical journey comes to life in this stunning original production.


Thursday, January 24th at 7:30 PM

Friday, January 25th at 7:30 PM

Saturday, January 26th at 7:30 PM


Tickets are $15 for the general public, $10 for students, and $5 for NMU students.

Located in the Forest Roberts Theatre.


Cast List





Creative Team

Director Jill Grundstrom
Composer Griffin Candey
Music Director  
Choreographer Jill Grundstrom
Scenic Designer  
Lighting Designer  
Costume Designer  
Sound Designer  
Properties Master  
Technical Director  
Production Stage Manager  

† Indicates membership in Alpha Psi Omega, the National Theatre Honor Society.



Additional Artistic Staff

Assistant Stage Manager  
Master Electrician  
Light Board Operator   
Sound Board Operator  
Run Crew  

† Indicates membership in Alpha Psi Omega, the National Theatre Honor Society.



Forest Roberts Theatre Staff

Costume Shop Supervisor Ann Juidici
Costume Shop Crew Helen Boburka, Hannah Danforth, Taylor Ehle, Regan McKay, Erin Perry, Sabrina Nelson, Esther Teng
Scene Shop Foreman Steve McClain
Carpenters, Electricians and Painters Emily Baker, Marissa Bekkering, Helen Boburka, Hannah Cormier, Keegan Downey, Nathaniel Langlie, Audree Stephens, Jacob Stipe, Justin Van't Hof, Taylor Wilcox
Lighting and Sound Supervisor Dan Zini
Box Office Manager Lilith Kontos
Assistant Box Office Manager Emily Kendall
Box Office Staff Jacob Laitinen, Regan McKay, Micah Munts, Nick Salin, Sophie Sam, Nathan Zaremba
Facebook Find us at FRT Theatre and Dance! 

† indicates membership in Alpha Psi Omega, the National Theatre Honor Society.

Cast Bios

Coming Soon!


Creative Team Bios

Coming Soon!