CAPS Students Take Top Two Honors in Statewide Competition

Seven Northern Michigan University students have won awards from the Michigan Association of Broadcasters.

The team of Tyler Schwemin, Trent Bailey, Justin Berkel and Mikenzie Frost won first place in the College Sports Television category for their play-by-play and production of the NMU v. Ferris State Hockey series in November.

The team of Tyler Schwemin, Cody Boyer, Jill Willman and Jenna Kirby completed the sweep by winning second place in the same category for their announcing and production of the NMU v. Alabama Huntsville series.

This is the third time in the past five years that students in Professor Dwight Brady's Sports and Special Events class have won first place among all universities and colleges in Michigan.