News for NMU Employees


Seven Northern Michigan University students have won awards from the Michigan Association of Broadcasters. The team of Tyler Schwemin, Trent Bailey, Justin Berkel and Mikenzie Frost won first place in the college sports television category for their play-by-play and production of the NMU v. Ferris State hockey series in November. The team of Schwemin, Cody Boyer, Jill Willman and Jenna Kirby completed the sweep by winning second place in the same category for their announcing and production of the NMU v. Alabama-Huntsville hockey series. Pictured at left are Schwemin and Boyer. Pictured below is a production crew.

This is the third time in the past five years that students in Dwight Brady’s (CAPS) sports and special events class have won first place in this category among all universities and colleges in Michigan. But this is the first time his students have finished first and second. “With the success we’ve had, I expect my students to do well, but a one-two finish is pretty amazing given the competition they are up against,” said Brady.

Only four students could be included with each entry, but all students in the class participated in the announcing and production of five home football games and two home hockey series in the fall 2013 semester. The class is offered through the Communication and Performance Studies department with assistance from WNMU-TV and NMU Athletics. Mike Lakenen (WNMU-TV) serves as the on-site producer of the hockey broadcasts.