News for NMU Employees


Jeremy Donohue, help desk consultant (4A) in AIS/Computing Help Desk.

James Sullivan, buildings and grounds attendant in Auxiliary Services.



Judith Puncochar (Education, Leadership and Public Service) recently was appointed NMU’s new assessment of learning coordinator.

The following appointments were approved by the NMU Board of Trustees at its June meeting: 

Marie Aho, head and acting director of Counseling and Consultation Service, an 11-month term appointment (returning)

Erin Colwitz, assistant professor of music (new tenure-track appointment)

Nanci Gasiewicz, head and associate dean/director/associate professor with tenure in the School of Nursing, a three-year term appointment (contract extension)

David Haynes, professor with tenure in the School of Education, Leadership and Public Service (returning)

Karl Johnson, assistant professor of social work (new tenure-track appointment)

Charles Mesloh, interim dean, College of Health Sciences and Professional Studies, one-year term appointment (transfer)



Suzanne Trdan, retail store manager (AP) in Dining Services.


Teresa Bischof, to executive secretary (4A) in the School of Clinical Sciences.

Dody Huuki, principal secretary in Counseling and Consultation Services.

Kerry Mohr, to assignment coordinator-residence halls (4A) in Housing and Residence Life.

Tod Poirier, to TV traffic coordinator/assistant program manager (AP) in the Learning Resources Division.

Lenette Pynnonen, assistant registrar (AP) in the Registrar’s Office.

Lisa Sarvello, to assignment coordinator-university apartments (4A) in Housing and Residence Life.



At its June and July meetings, the NMU Board of Trustees granted Professor Emeritus status to the following:

Russell Magnaghi, History; Kenneth Janson, Business; Steven Oates, Education and Candy Bays, Peter Goodrich, Ron Johnson, Paul Lehmberg, Beverly Matherne, Diane Sautter and John Smolens, English.