News for NMU Employees

Reassigned Time Awarded

Ten NMU faculty members were selected for Reassigned Time Awards for the winter 2014 semester. They have received four credits of reassigned time to pursue scholarly research or creative projects. The recipients and their project titles are:

Matt Bell (English), “Scrapper.”

Lisa Eckert (English), “Becoming a Rural Educator: Teaching and Learning English in Rural Communities.”

Keith Ellis (Art and Design), “SASS and Compass: New Elements in Web Design.”

Tara Foster (Modern Languages and Literature), “On the Margins of King Arthur’s World and the Roman de Saladin.”

Mollie Freier (AIS-Library), “Rare Books in Detective Fiction.”

Norma Froelich (Earth, Environmental and Geographical Sciences), “Development of a Program for Climatology Research on Lake Superior.”

J. Marek Haltof (English), “Screening Auschwitz: Wanda Jakubowska’s The Last Stage 1948 and the Politics of Commemoration.”

Shravan Rajagopal (Art and Design), “The Yantra Project.”

Josh S. Sharp (Biology), “Laser-based Rapid Identification of Staphylococcus aureus and MRSA.”

Suzanne Williams (Chemistry), “How Much DNA is on Your Laptop: Developing a Protocol for Quantifying Trace DNA.”