ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2010-2011


Summer Semester 2010

Registration and first official day of classes

(4-, 6- or 12-week and special topic courses)

Monday, May 17

Memorial Day observance - no classes

Monday, May 31

First official day of Session II classes

Monday, June 28

Independence Day observance - no classes

Friday, July 5

Last day of classes

Saturday, August 7

Final grades due from faculty

Tuesday, August 10



Fall Semester 2010

Orientation for new students

Wednesday-Friday, August 18-20,

First official day of classes

Monday, August 23

Labor Day observance – no classes

Monday, September 6

Planning/Conference Day – no classes

Friday, October 8

Thanksgiving recess begins at 8:00 a.m.

Wednesday, November 24

Classes resume

Monday, November 29

Last day of classes

Saturday, December 4

Examination period

Monday-Saturday, December 6-11

Commencement

Saturday, December 11

Final grades due from faculty

Tuesday, December 14



Winter Semester 2011

Orientation for new students

Wednesday-Friday, January 5-7

First official day of classes

Monday, January 10

Midsemester recess begins 5:00 p.m.

Saturday, February 26

Classes resume

Monday, March 7

Last day of classes

Saturday, April 23

Examination period

Monday-Saturday, April 25-30

Commencement

Saturday, April 30

Final grades due from faculty

Tuesday, May 3


Summer Semester 2011

Registration and first official day of classes

(4-, 6- or 12-week and special topic courses)

Monday, May 16

Memorial Day observance - no classes

Monday, May 30

First official day of Session II classes

Monday, June 27

Independence Day observance - no classes

Friday, July 4

Last day of classes

Saturday, August 6

Final grades due from faculty

Tuesday, August 9

Grades for Summer College Sessions I and II posted on mynmu.nmu.edu

Thursday, August 11


Fall Semester 2011

Orientation for new students

TBD

First official day of classes

Monday, August 29

Labor Day observance – no classes

Monday, September 5

Planning/Conference Day – no classes

Friday, October 14

Thanksgiving recess begins at 8:00 a.m.

Wednesday, November 23

Classes resume

Monday, November 28

Last day of classes

Saturday, December 10

Examination period

Monday-Saturday, December 12-17

Commencement

Saturday, December 17

Final grades due from faculty

Tuesday, December 20

Grades for fall semester posted on mynmu.nmu.edu

Thursday, December 22


Winter Semester 2012

First official day of classes

Monday, January 16

Midsemester recess begins 5:00 p.m.

Saturday, March 3

Classes resume

Monday, March 12

Last day of classes

Saturday, April 28

Examination period

Monday-Saturday, April 30-May 5

Commencement

Saturday, May 5

Final grades due from faculty

Tuesday, May 8

Grades for winter semester posted on mynmu.nmu.edu

Thursday, May 10