Addendum #1



Minutes of the Meeting of the Executive Committee

Thursday, September 29, 2011


A meeting of the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University was held on Thursday, September 29, 2011.  It was convened by Chair Jon G. LaSalle at 12:00 p.m. 


Participating were: 


Mr. Jon G. LaSalle, Chair       Mr. Brian D. Cloyd, ex officio

Mr. Stephen F. Adamini         Dr. Leslie E. Wong, ex officio (for agenda items 2-4)

            Dr. L. Garnet Lewis



Board of Trustees Budget

The Committee reviewed the Board of Trustees final expenses for 2010-2011.  They also reviewed the budget for 2011-2012 and found it satisfactory.


Presidential Contract Revision

University Counsel, Cathy Dehlin, reported on the process of revising the President’s contract and explained what stage of the process it is currently in.  It is anticipated that a revised contract will be ready for final approval at the December meeting.


President’s Goal – USOEC Long Term Strategy

President Wong reported on the current status of the USOEC and the many challenges faced in getting information from NMU’s partners in the USOEC.  At this point we still do not have enough information from NGBs or the USOC to finish the development of a long-term strategy.


Report on Chair Cloyd’s Inquiries on Enrollment and Fund Development

The Committee reviewed substantial materials as part of the packet for the Executive Committee meeting and has not yet had a chance to read and discuss the content of the answers to Chair Cloyd’s questions.  It was decided to share all of these documents with the entire Board and request that observations and/or comments be directed to both President Wong and Chair Cloyd.


President’s Goals and “Stretch” Goals

The Committee discussed possibly moving to a different format for the President’s goals and to finding a new process for setting these goals.  Discussion will continue on that new format and process.


Mr. LaSalle adjourned the meeting at 1:06 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,



Jon G. LaSalle, Chair