NMU Board of Trustees

Faculty Work Subcommittee

July 11, 2011





Members Present:

Mr. Richard Popp, Chair (via phone)

Mr. Jon LaSalle (via phone)

Dr. H. Sook Wilkinson (via phone)

Mr. Brian Cloyd, ex officio (via phone)

Dr. Les Wong, ex officio.


The meeting was called to order at 2:04 p.m.


The Subcommittee agreed that the Board of Trustees needs to learn more about faculty work; involve stakeholders/subject matter experts (AAUP President, Provost, Deans, Academic Department Heads, others); and begin with a broad discussion and get more specific regarding the tenure process.


The Subcommittee suggested possible goals, for discussion at the next meeting. 


1.  Review and understand the existing structure of faculty work

2.  Look for opportunities to improve the overall process of how work is reviewed/assessed


President Wong suggested, and the subcommittee agreed, that Dr. Terry Seethoff attend the next subcommittee meeting as a key stakeholder to provide his perspective on faculty work, given his extensive background and expertise.  Ms. Hares will contact Dr. Seethoff.


Mr. Popp thanked the subcommittee and the meeting adjourned at 2:45 p.m.