Office of the President

NMU Board of Trustees

The NMU Board of Trustees does not have a mission statement per se; rather, their mission is derived from the State of Michigan’s Constitution.  Their statement of purpose is as described below.

Michigan's Constitution, which was adopted in 1963, granted constitutional autonomy to Northern Michigan University. It also vested governing authority in an eight-member Board of Trustees. Each trustee is appointed by the Governor to serve an eight-year term, subject to confirmation by the Senate. Trustees may also be reappointed at the pleasure of the Governor.

The Board of Trustees affirms its obligation to the citizens of Michigan to provide high quality education to people from all walks of life. It correspondingly pledges itself to the wisest use and distribution of resources at its disposal to meet this major objective.

The Board expresses its confidence in the President of the University, Dr. Leslie E. Wong; the administrative staff; and the faculty to develop and continuously improve Northern’s diversified program of instruction, research, and public service, in keeping with the constitutionally-declared public policy that: ". . .schools and the means of education shall forever be encouraged."