First presented in 1964, the NMU Alumni Awards celebrate excellence: Northern alumni who have received an associate, bachelor, masters or educational specialist degree. They have been a positive influence on their professions or on their communities and distinguished themselves through achievements, both personal and professional, which not only set them apart in their field and social circles, but define them as true leaders. They will be honored during the NMU Alumni Association Homecoming Awards and Donor-Funded Scholarship Brunch on September 21st. 

To nominate alumni you know for an award, or to read about past winners, please visit: Nominations can be submitted by friends, family, faculty and staff.

Distinguished Alumni Award:  Bruce Remington '75 
A true trailblazer in his field, Bruce has been a physicist at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory since 1988. He is a world leader in the study of high energy density experimental science applied to astrophysics, planetary science and applied physics, using high-energy, high-power lasers. Bruce was awarded the prestigious Edward Teller Medal by the American Nuclear Society for, “pioneering scientific work in the fields of inertial confinement fusion, laboratory astrophysics and high pressure material science and leadership in development of an international effort in HED laboratory astrophysics.” He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and is a co-recipient of the APS Excellence in Plasma Physics Award.

Distinguished Alumni Award: Fred Stonehouse ’70, ’77
An advocate for a greater understanding of American maritime history, Fred has expanded his career to include achievements as an educator, award winning author and active community member. He is recognized as a prominent Great Lakes maritime historian and national expert on U.S. Life-Saving Service and early Coast Guard. As an author of over 30 books on maritime history his expertise is often called upon by national and regional organizations, including the National Geographic Society and the History Channel. A devoted Marquette community member Fred is a founder of the Marquette Maritime Museum and has served as an advisor or board member to Marquette’s City Council, the Harbor Advisory Committee, DeVos Art Museum, Beaumier U.P. Heritage Center, Iron Ore Heritage Trail Committee and the NMU Alumni Association.

Alumni Achievement Award:  Jeannie Thoren '68
Frustrated by her lack of progress, Jeannie set out to improve her own skiing by retrofitting equipment to accommodate a woman's center of gravity. Her idea gave birth to the “Thoren Theory,” which recognizes that modifying women’s equipment can radically produce better skiers. Her theory revolutionized the thinking of the entire ski industry. Today, Jeannie and her husband Tom own and operate the Jeannie Thoren Women's Ski Center in Vail, Colorado. Her achievements in advancing the field have garnered attention in countless magazines and articles, even being named to Ski Magazine’s most influential skiers of the century.

Alumni Service Award:  Curt Tucker '82, '08
An alumnus of NMU’s Industrial Technology program, Curt has found success serving as an innovator in today’s auto racing industry. He is the president and founder of TeamTech Motorsports Safety, Inc. His commitment to developing quality safety equipment has helped significantly decrease the injury rate in auto racing today. Curt continues to support NMU, donating equipment to the SAE Baja Team, connecting team members with mentors in the racing industry and aiding in securing sponsors to fund the Baja team’s ground-up creation of an off-road racing vehicle. Curt also served on the Alumni Association Board of Directors and currently serves as a member on the NMU Engineering Technology Department’s Industrial Advisory Board.