Excellence in Teaching Awards

Purpose: To recognize the excellence in teaching of Northern Michigan University faculty, the Office of Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, working with the Teaching and Learning Advisory Council, announces the Excellence in Teaching Award.

Eligibility: Faculty who are currently on full-time, continuing, or active status and have been members of the Northern Michigan University faculty for at least three (3) years at the time of the award. Prior recipients may be nominated five (5) years after receiving this award.

Criteria: Nominees must have demonstrated a sustained record of high achievement in teaching evidenced by, but not restricted to:

  • high student qualitative and quantitative evaluations
  • positive peer observation
  • learning outcomes assessment data
  • thorough knowledge of subject matter taught
  • clarity, organization, and consistency in subject presentation and assessment
  • enthusiasm for teaching and learning
  • creation of a safe and open learning environment
  • experimentation with teaching and learning paradigms

Nominations: Nominations for individuals or teaching teams may be made by any peer, department head/director, unit evaluation committee, or student. Nominations must be accompanied by appropriate supporting documentation such as summaries of student evaluations, peer teaching evaluations, course syllabi, teaching materials, etc.  EITA Nomination forms may be downloaded HERE.

Deadline: Completed nomination forms and all supporting documentation must be submitted by the deadline on the nomination form to the Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Selection: All nominations will be reviewed by a Selection Advisory Committee chaired by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs and composed of the Academic Deans and two members of the Teaching and Learning Advisory Committee.

Recognition: Recipients of the NMU Excellence in Teaching Award will be recognized at the December Celebration of Excellence in Teaching and Scholarship. Up to two recipients annually receive a cash award of $1000.

Information: For further information, contact the Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at (906) 227-1458.