Imdieke Chairs Caldecott Award Selection Committee

Sandra Imdieke (Education) was recently appointed chair of the 2013 Caldecott Award Selection Committee. The Caldecott Award is presented annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. Imdieke and committee members will review the 2012 published picture books and announce the award decision in January 2013. She will make the formal award presentation and give a speech at the annual conference and banquet.

“I’ve served as a member of the Caldecott Committee,” said Imdieke. "So from personal experience I know that the year spent studying and evaluating picture books for children with other professionals from across the country is similar to a master class and a professional development opportunity like no other. I hope the 14 members of my committee will leave the experience with a sense of pride in what we accomplish together, on behalf of children.”

Sandra ImdiekeImdieke was the recipient of the 2005 Michigan’s Reading Association’s Teacher Education Award and has served on both the Newbery and Caldecott Medal committees. She has also served as a regional coordinator and chair of the International Reading Association’s Teachers’ Choices Project.

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of the 19th century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children.



Copyright by the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University, 1401 Presque Isle Ave, Marquette, MI 49855 1-800-682-9797
Northern Michigan University is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Admissions questions | Technical questions | NMU Web Team
Updated: June 18, 2011

NMU logo