David Prychitko (Economics) served on the five-member committee that selected winners of the 2009 Lavoie Memorial Graduate Student Essay Competition. The contest, sponsored by the Society for the Development of Austrian Economics, is open to advanced PhD students in economics or other relevant disciplines worldwide. Submissions are thesis chapters or research geared toward publication in professional journals on a topic relevant to Austrian economics. Three winners received $1,000 each to support their travel to last month's Southern Economic Association meetings in San Antonio, Texas, where they presented their work.

Mary-Jane Tremethick Mary Jane Tremethick (HPER) received the Midwest District American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance Scholar Award. This award recognizes one professional annually “with an outstanding record of scholarly publications and presentations and active service to health, physical education, recreation, dance, and/or sport.” The Midwest District includes HPER professionals in Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, West Virginia and Wisconsin. Tremethick's primary area of research is community health, with a focus on meeting the health promotion needs of older adults.

NMU received an overall score of 68 out of 70 in Michigan Department of Education’s teacher preparation institution performance scores for academic year 2007-08 (the most recent measure), resulting in an “exemplary” classification by the state. Only one other institution, Andrews University, received more points. The rankings are based on scores in several areas. NMU received full points in all categories except for diversity because the percentage of students represented by ethnic minorities at NMU is less than the 10 percent needed to get the five points in the category. Thirty of the 70 points are awarded for more than a 90 percent passing rate on the content areas of the Michigan Test for Teacher Certification (MTTC). NMU's 95 percent pass rate was among the highest in the state. “We are pleased that the state has recognized our program and given it an exemplary rating," said Rod Clarken (Education). " We have an outstanding teacher education program. Our faculty, students, alumni and employers have known that for years, and now I hope others will come to know its excellence as well.”

The building competition to benefit the TV-6 Canathon netted nearly 3,000 pounds of food, an increase of about 900 pounds from last year. Whitman Hall was the winner with 490 pounds and will keep the traveling plaque. The University Center placed second and Cohodas Hall was third. The following technical and office professionals assisted in the collection effort in their respective buildings: Gloria Alexander, April Bertucci, Muriel Kangas, Michelle Kimball, Kathy Malay, Patti Rizzio, Beth Sanderson, Patti Sarvello, Linda Sides, Tina Vandezande, Dawn Wilder, Andrea Wrubel and Sue Young.


Copyright by the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University, 1401 Presque Isle Ave, Marquette, MI 49855 1-800-682-9797
Northern Michigan University is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Admissions questions | Technical questions | NMU Web Team
Updated: December 11, 2009

NMU logo