Tawni Ferrarini (Economics) is the inaugural recipient of the Abbejean Kehler Technology Award presented by the National Association of Economic Educators. She was honored at a recent conference in Washington, D.C. The award recognizes an NAEE member "instrumental in promoting the use of technology to improve the delivery of programs in economic education." It is named in honor of Kehler, who chaired the NAEE technology committee for many years and continued serving in various leadership capacities until her untimely death last spring.


Brent Graves (Biology) took eight students to a conference on evolution at the University of Chicago. The conference was held in honor of the 200th anniversary of Charles Darwin's birth and the 150th anniversary of the publication of his book, On the Origin of Species.

Pictured in a photo taken at the conference are (front row left to right): Katie Miedona, Anne Scott and Luke Obermeyer; (back row) Amanda Hilgers, Cassie Lytle, Andrea Weiner, Graves, Heath Mason and John Pfeiffer.


NMU student Joseph Sobel's "Untitled" works are on display in the Anderson House Building in Lansing as part of the fifth annual Arts in the House exhibit. The collection by 10 students from Michigan universities was unveiled during a reception on Oct. 15. Michael Boulus, executive director of the Presidents Council, and House Speaker Pro Tempore Pam Byrnes honored those whose work will be showcased during 2009-10. Arts in the House is a partnership between the Presidents Council and the Michigan House of Representatives to promote art in everyday life. Sobel is pictured below with his two pieces.



Submit your achievement here.


Copyright by the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University, 1401 Presque Isle Ave, Marquette, MI 49855 1-800-682-9797
Northern Michigan University is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Admissions questions | Technical questions | NMU Web Team
Updated: November 19, 2009

NMU logo