Employees Receive Awards

The following staff awards were presented at the Employee Recognition Luncheon held April 15 in the University Center: excellence in service, distinguished team service and Teaching, Learning and Communication (TLC), for effective use of technology.

Recipients of the excellence in service award were (pictured left to right with NMU President Les Wong): Robin Stille (Foundation), for revamping the Foundation’s privately-funded scholarship information and processes, creating a higher profile for the scholarships so students and parents are aware of the many funding opportunities available at NMU; Cara Kamps (Center for Student Enrichment), for her role in shifting to the content management system, updating the department’s Web site, and handling processes and responding to questions related to the Student Leader Fellowship Program and the growing Superior Edge program; Rachel Harris (Center for Student Enrichment), for making the Superior Edge program a one-of-a-kind initiative with an exceptional participation rate and for being an enthusiastic teacher and positive role model for hundreds of students; John Frick (Career Services), for serving as an administrative/financial adviser and mentor for students at Radio X, enhancing the student support services with numerous job fairs, volunteering in the community and creating an endowed scholarship at NMU in his family's name; Kimberly Hegmegee (CAPS), for effectively coordinating and enhancing the technical elements for mainstage and lab/studio theater productions, serving as a consultant to campus and community arts presenters, maintaining the Reynolds Recital Hall lighting control system and establishing an internship program for high school students; and Angela Maki (Modern Languages and Literatures/International Programs), for being a member of several teams that have submitted and secured grants in International Programs and for going "above and beyond" to help faculty and staff within the departments with technology, paperwork and procedures, and to help new employees and students feel comfortable at NMU.


The Academic Service Learning Advisory Board and the School of Technology and Applied Sciences Staff received the distinguished team service awards. The advisory board was honored for going beyond the typical curriculum to encourage innovative, community-directed academic programs that expand the student experience at NMU, challenge faculty and students to strive for excellence inside and outside the classroom, and encourage students to become more community-oriented. The board contributed to the development of the Superior Edge initiative and the implementation of President Wong’s "Road Map to 2015." Members present at the luncheon were (front left to right with Wong): Kia Jane Richmond (English), Carol Steinhaus (Business), Elizabeth Monske (English), Charles Ganzert (CAPS) and Leslie Cory (Technology and Occupational Sciences); (second row) Judith Puncochar (Education), Katy Morrison (Center for Student Enrichment), Mary Ellen Powers (Nursing), Heidi Stevenson (HPER), Rachel Harris (Center for Student Enrichment) and Nell Kupper (Modern Languages and Literatures); (back row) Dave Bonsall (Center for Student Enrichment), Paul Duby (Institutional Research) and Ronald Sundell (Geography). Other board members not pictured are Michael Andary (Technology and Occupational Sciences), April Lindala (Center for Native American Studies), Terry Seethoff (Arts and Sciences), Walter Niebauer (CAPS) and Sandra Poindexter (Business).

The School of Technology and Applied Sciences staff also received a distinguished team service award for implementing weekly meetings, completing "lean processing" training sessions, providing outstanding support to the two new department heads and working well together to coordinate tasks and activities.

Staff members are (from left with Wong): Janet Syria, senior secretary; Beth Sanderson, principal secretary II; and Kathy Solka, principal secretary.


A group that implemented a project allowing students to charge textbooks to their personal accounts received the TLC staff award for innovative use of technology. To offer the service at the NMU Bookstore, student data needed to be downloaded from Banner into the Bookstore’s PRISM point-of-sale system, then the transaction had to be transferred back to Banner for billing. The group set the goals and parameters, solved problems and wrote policy for the interface that was needed to accomplish this service. Students benefit because they don't have to wait until funds arrive, allowing them access to books at the start of the semester. Also, the service is more convenient and decreases checkout time during the NMU Bookstore's most hectic period. Members of the group were (pictured from left with Wong): Nancy Anderson (Financial Services), Brian Larson (AdIT), Steven Bigalk (Financial Services) and Paul Wright (NMU Bookstore).


Copyright by the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University, 1401 Presque Isle Ave, Marquette, MI 49855 1-800-682-9797
Northern Michigan University is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Admissions questions | Technical questions | NMU Web Team
Updated: April 16, 2009

NMU logo