NMU has received CASE District V silver awards in the categories “Best Collaborative Program” and “Best Practices in Fundraising and Development" for the program titled "Two Events, One Special Night." Mel Charbonneau and Robyn Stille (NMU Foundation), Deborah Pearce and Yvonne Lee of the hospitality management program and Mike Andary and Daryl  Kobie, faculty advisers to the NMU Constructors, were recognized for working together last spring to ensure the success of the “Blueprint for Success Annual Giving Recognition Event” and the “Classic Hollywood Fundraising Dinner.” Their efforts have been recognized as exemplars of the accomplishments that are possible when diverse elements of the campus community work together toward common goals. NMU received the awards among institutions with full-time equivalent enrollments between 3,000 and 9,999. The awards will be presented at the CASE District V Annual Conference in December in Chicago.

Work by Beverly Matherne (English) is featured in "American Voices: The Poetry of Nine Poets," a course being offered this fall at Swansea University in Wales, U.K. The course focuses on poetry inspired by ancestry and womanhood. Matherne was a featured poet at the Dylan Thomas Centre in Swansea in May 2007.

The DeVos Art Museum received one of Finnish-American architect Eero Saarinen's famous "Tulip" chairs for the permanent collection. Saarinen (1910-1961) is most famous for designing the St. Louis Gateway Arch, the General Motors Technical Center, the main terminal at Dulles International Airport near Washington, D.C., and numerous corporate headquarters, including IBM, John Deere and CBS. He grew up in the community of the Cranbrook Academy of Art, where his father taught, and later studied there with Charles and Ray Eames and Florence Knoll.

Saarinen's daughter, Susan Saarinen, and Mark Coir, former archivist at Cranbrook, gave lectures on the Saarinen family legacy at both NMU and Finlandia University. The events were organized by the Finlandia Foundation International's "Lecturers of the Year" Series. Knoll Studio donated two of Saarinen's Tulip chairs for the presentations and a committee decided to gift one to NMU's permanent collection and the other to Finlandia University. Pictured with the chairs are (clockwise from lower left): Susan Saarinen, professor emeritus Jim Quirk, Peter Pless (Art and Design) and Melissa Matuscak ( DeVos Art Museum)


Copyright by the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University, 1401 Presque Isle Ave, Marquette, MI 49855 1-800-682-9797
Northern Michigan University is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Admissions questions | Technical questions | NMU Web Team
Updated: November 6, 2008

NMU logo