WNMU-TV has received a $633,000 federal digital television grant from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Rural Development Program. The funding will allow the station to complete its transition to a digital format, replacing obsolete analog studio production equipment and purchasing high-definition (HD) digital remote production equiment. WNMU-TV is one of 19 stations nationwide to receive funding through the USDA's competitive grant program. It has secured more than $2.9 million in federal grants for the transition since 2006 with the help of Congressman Bart Stupak. By law, all full-power TV stations in the country will stop broadcasting in analog and switch to digital on Feb. 17, 2009.

Harvey Wallace (Health, Physical Education and Recreation) received the 2008 Hageman Award from the National Association of Local Boards of Health at its annual convention July 23 in Madison, Wis. The award is given annually to a local board of health member “whose work on behalf of public health most exemplifies the commitment, vision and energy exhibited by Everett I. Hageman, founding member of NALBOH Board of Trustees.” Wallace is a 20-year member of the Marquette County Board of Health and past president of the Michigan Association for Local Public Health. He also has served more than a decade as a consultant to the Centers for Disease Control and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation on projects related to improving state and local health departments. These include performance standards and the current effort of developing a national voluntary accreditation program.


For the second year in a row, NMU has received a $7,000 career and technical education program improvement grant from the Michigan Department of Education. NMU will use the funds to recruit and retain career and technical education teachers through its secondary education-industry technology baccalaureate program. Michael Turino (Academic and Career Advisement Center), an adjunct instructor, will conduct promotional activities with students in the program and area technology teachers. Activities will culminate with Turino's presentation at the Michigan Industrial and Technology Education Society convention in May in Battle Creek.

Kathy Saville (Academic Information Services) received a Community Collaboration Award from Blackboard, the provider of products that enable universities to host their classes on the Web. She is part of a nationwide community of instructional designers, system administrators and institution staff who participate in a weekly conference call. The goal is to help their respective entities and the company ensure a successful upgrade to the Application Pack 2 (AP2) for the Blackboard Learning System. Saville said NMU has more than 2,000 courses on Blackboard.

Six NMU students participating in the Superior Edge program have received $1,000 scholarships from TCF Bank for the fall 2008 semester. Each scholarship recipient filled out an application and wrote an essay about the most worthwhile experience she or he has had in a particular edge (citizenship, diversity, leadership or real-world). Pictured in the photo below are (front row from left): Brad Christian of TCF Bank; Justine Pinskey, a biology major from Richmond; Maria Krawczak, a construction management major from Alpena; Sara Classen, a pre-med/public administration major from Cannon Falls, Minn.; and Karen LeBlanc from TCF Bank; (back row from left): NMU Superior Edge representatives Stephanie Felton, Seth Hill-Kennedy, Gavin Telfer and Rachel Harris; Angela Neumann, an accounting/financial planning major from Traverse City; Raechel Percy, a biology/physiology major from Boyne City, Mich.; Zachary Bartel, an environmental science major from Cedar Springs; and TCF Bank's Kendall Burt.

Submit your achievement here.


Copyright by the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University, 1401 Presque Isle Ave, Marquette, MI 49855 1-800-682-9797
Northern Michigan University is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Admissions questions | Technical questions | NMU Web Team
Updated: August 20, 2008

NMU logo