NMU President Les Wong has been appointed by Gov. Jennifer Granholm to serve on the Advisory Council for Asian and Pacific American Affairs. The council is charged with alerting the governor to pertinent issues within the Asian and Pacific American community. lt also makes recommendations regarding programs and policies for the betterment of Asian and Pacific American culture and accomplishments.

Wellness Program Winners

The following employees have been named weekly winners in the NMU “Celebrate Wellness” program. This self-graded system awards points for exercise and other health-related activities. Participants who reached a minimum of 50 points and submitted their forms to Human Resources were entered in the random weekly drawings. Winners from the first six weeks, and their respective prizes, were:

$20 Target certificate: Marla Buckmaster (Sociology and Social Work) , John Limback (AIS), Kathy Maki (Intercollegiate Athletics and Recreational Sports), Cathy Niemi (Finance and Administration) and Kim Rotundo (Housing and Residence Life).

$20 Downwind Sports certificate: Lisa Alto (Housing and Residence Life), Cheryl Andrews (AdIT), Judy Hopper (AdIT), Michelle Kimball (AIS), Rick Parmenter (Plant Operations) and Suzanne Williams (Chemistry).

$20 Johnson’s Sports certificate: Sandy Carlson (AIS), Kelly Dore (Foundation), Susan Henderson (Military Science), Theresa Nease (Academic Affairs), Bill Ombrello (Plant Operations) and Judy Puncochar (Education).

$20 Sport’s Rack certificate: Tony Bertucci (AdIT), Kitty Davis (Human Resources) , Russ Kangas (Plant Operations) , Terri Mattson (Financial Services) and Margarete Salinger (NMU Bookstore).

$20 Shopko certificate: Chyrl Hemmila (Communications and Marketing), Muriel Kangas (Education), Mike Kuzak (NMU Bookstore), Carrie Snowaert (Auxiliary Services), Sherri Trotochaud (Registrar) and Sally Wilson (Dining Services).

$20 Dunham’s certificate: Brian Larson (AdIT), Sharon Mattis (Controller), Kathy Richards (Engineering and Planning), Larry Vessels (Plant Operations), Sue Young (Criminal Justice) and Phyllis Zaenglein (Communication Disorders).


Copyright by the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University, 1401 Presque Isle Ave, Marquette, MI 49855 1-800-682-9797
Northern Michigan University is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Admissions questions | Technical questions | NMU Web Team
Updated: December 1, 2005

NMU logo