Works by U.P. Artists Selected for Permanent Collection

A reception honoring 39 Upper Peninsula artists whose works have been selected for the DeVos Art Museum's permanent collection will be held from 6:30-8 p.m. Friday, Nov. 4. After the reception, a concert will be performed in the museum lobby by West African musician Nainy Diabate and friends. The public is invited to attend free of charge.

The "Northern Collection" will be showcased in an exhibit that runs from Nov. 4 through May 5. Featured artists are Nita Engle, Paul Grant, Maggie Linn, Patrick St. Germain, Vickie Allison Phillips, Marvin Zehnder, Kaye Hiebel, Mike Letts, Gordon Gearhart (whose painting is pictured above), Linda Ferguson, Christine Saari, Ed and Julie Risak, Berry Bernstein, Patrick Dragon, Rich Branstrom, Jon Brookhouse, John Gustofson, Mark Mitchell, John Lundeen, Bernie Park, Jack Deo, Rob LaLonde, Patty Smith, Christine Garceau, Holly Hamilton, Joyce Koskenmaki, Cynthia Cote, Phyllis Fredendall, Yvonne LeMire, Susie Colquit, and NMU faculty John Hubbard, Dale Wedig, Steve Leuthold, Tom Cappuccio, Sam Chung, Bill Leete, Dennis Staffne and Elizabeth Coleman.

Regular gallery hours are 10 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 1-4 p.m. Saturday and Sunday.  For more information, contact ext. 2194. 


Copyright by the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University, 1401 Presque Isle Ave, Marquette, MI 49855 1-800-682-9797
Northern Michigan University is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Admissions questions | Technical questions | NMU Web Team
Updated: October 26, 2005

NMU logo