Head cross country ski coach Sten Fjeldheim (Athletics, pictured right ) received the Domestic Coach of the Year Award from the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association. The USSA is the national governing body for Olympic skiing and snowboarding. This is the second time that Fjeldheim has picked up the award. He won it in 2000 and is the only two-time recipient.

Gavin Leach (Finance and Admistration, pictured left) is the recipient of the 2005 Rising Star Award from the National Association of College and University Business Officers (NACUBO). This award is given to "up-and-coming individuals in the areas of finance, administration and business who provide innovative, meaningful contributions to the improvement of their profession and the efficiency of their institutions."

Leach will receive an inscribed plaque as well as a scholarship for a NACUBO seminar of his choice. NACUBO serves a membership of more than 2,500 colleges, universities and other higher education service providers across the country.

Michigan's Gray Wolf: Ghost of the Big Timber, produced by Dwight Brady (Communication and Performance Studies) and NMU alumnus Nick VanCourt, is one of 10 films selected for a summer film festival at the International Wolf Center in Ely, Minn. On May 28, Brady helped kick off the premiere of the "Wolves of the World" festival at the center (as pictured at right). He introduced the NMU documentary and answered follow-up questions from audience members.

"The reaction of the staff to this film has invariably been deep admiration," said Jim Williams of the International Wolf Center. "We know how difficult it is to simply tell the whole story about this complex animal and our complex relationship to it. Michigan's Gray Wolf tells the whole story and does so with such unerring accuracy, clarity, respect and humanity that we have come to see it as a model of excellence in wolf education. Needless to say, we are very proud to be exhibiting this film."

For more information on the film festival, go to Wolves of the World.

The NMU Army ROTC Wildcat Battalion commissioned its largest class in more than a decade at a May 7 ceremony in the commons area of Whitman Hall.

The nine officers commissioned as second lieutenants in the U.S. Army are (pictured back row, from left): Anne Seeburger, Elise VanDerPuy, James Kolky, Darnell Lollis, Michael Zultak Jr., Trent Anderson, Matthew Allen, Jacob Davis and Alexander Gualdoni. Attendees included (front row, from left): Cameron Howes (College of Professional Studies), Phyllis Wong, NMU President Les Wong, Terry Seethoff (College of Arts and Sciences), and Lt. Col. John Vickers (Military Science).


Copyright by the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University, 1401 Presque Isle Ave, Marquette, MI 49855 1-800-682-9797
Northern Michigan University is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Admissions questions | Technical questions | NMU Web Team
Updated: October 26, 2005

NMU logo