Teaching Award Nominations Due Nov. 19

Nomination materials for the Excellence in Teaching Awards are due by 5 p.m. Friday, Nov. 19. In previous years, the process took place during the winter semester, but the new timeline is designed to better differentiate this honor from the Distinguished Faculty Awards.

Nominations for individual faculty or teaching teams may be submitted by any employee or unit evaluation committee. All NMU faculty currently on full-time, continuing, active status are eligible. Recipients of the Excellence in Teaching Award will be recognized at the Celebration of Scholarship the last week of regularly scheduled classes. Up to two recipients will each receive a cash award of $1,000.

Nominees must have demonstrated a sustained record of high achievement in teaching evidenced by, but not restricted to:

•  enthusiasm for teaching and learning;
•  creation of a safe and open learning environment;
•  thorough knowledge of subject matter taught;
•  experimentation with teaching and learning paradigms;
•  high student qualitative and quantitative evaluations;
•  clarity, organization, and consistency in subject presentation and assessment; and
•  positive peer observation.

Nomination forms and details may be obtained from the Teaching and Learning Advisory Committee (TLAC), the office of the provost and vice president for academic affairs, or the academic senate office.



1401 Presque Isle Ave | Marquette, MI 49855 | 1-800-682-9797
Technical questions? E-mail webhelp@nmu.edu
Admissions questions? E-mail admiss@nmu.edu

1999-2004 by the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University

Page created by: NMU Webteam

Northern Michigan University is an AA/EO Institution.

NMU logo

Updated: November 8, 2004